Established in 2010, the Amsterdam Dialogue is a high-level conference on peace and justice in situations of violent conflict. Organised by the Dialogue Advisory Group, Human Rights Watch and International Crisis Group, the conference brings together peace mediators, human rights advocates and senior officials, including the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court.

Mediators and human rights advocates share the general goal of working towards peace and justice. While mediators give priority to resolving conflict, human rights advocates give priority to accountability for human rights abuses. The Amsterdam Dialogue aims to provide a forum for finding common ground between these two objectives. Over the years a structured dialogue has been created that seeks to bridge differences, deepen understanding, and strengthen cooperation between those striving to achieve peace as well as justice.


Louise Arbour

Former President and CEO of International Crisis Group and former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

Fatou Bensouda

Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court

Jan Egeland

Secretary General of the Norwegian Refugee Council

Jean-Marie Guéhenno

International Crisis Group President and CEO

Russell Feingold

Former United States Special Envoy to the Great Lakes and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, former US Senator

Hilde Frafjord Johnson

Former Special Representative of the UN Secretary General to South Sudan and former Norwegian Minister 

Martin Griffiths

Executive Director of the European Institute of Peace

Angela Kane

Former UN High Representative for Disarmament Affairs

Luis Moreno Ocampo

Former Prosecutor of the ICC

Kenneth Roth

Executive Director at Human Rights Watch

Álvaro de Soto

Former UN Envoy to El Salvador, Cyprus, Israel/Palestine

Hesham Youssef

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation Assistant Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs


the organisers-01